Well, it’s been a while!

Hello everyone! It’s been nearly 10 days since I last posted and a lot has happened since then. It’s amazing how 10 days can be a lifetime in this process, because I feel like a lot has changed in such an insignificant amount of time. First off, I attended a Fuqua information session last Sunday, hosted by Jake Kiser and I was not disappointed. Although I felt like I already knew most of what was being said, simply because I’ve spent hours reading the website and student blogs, it was interesting to see the kind of people Fuqua looks for. The session was attended by four local alumni as well and they were able to give a lot of context to slightly abstract terms like “Team Fuqua”, “collaboration” and “giving back to the community”.

The turnout was far higher than I expected, but suffice to say, a lot of the questions asked were cringe worthy. But Jake and the alumni were really nice and answered everything with a lot of juicy anecdotes and stories. Before this session, I was already fond of Duke simply because I heard so much about it from my family friend. The way he described it just made me feel like it was the right place for me. After this session, I just fell in love with Fuqua even more.

I feel very reassured about my decision to apply Early Action to Fuqua because I can’t wait to be a part of this family. I love basketball (I played for my school’s women’s basketball team) and so the more I hear about the Blue Devils, the more I want to watch them play. Also Campout! Fuqua Friday! Climbing the wall! Gah. I just want to get into Fuqua and be done with the entire process already. Yale comes close, but not as close as Fuqua already is to my heart. I don’t want to put all my eggs in one basket though, so I’m trying to be more rational about this and split my time between schools equally.

I have a list of 30 things for my “25 Random Things” essay which I need to cut down. I’m quite happy with my list because it pretty much describes me as a person. When it comes to the “Why Fuqua” essay, I’m trying not get too poetic and dreamy because I just sound like a love-struck idiot… but that may not necessarily be a bad thing.

Hope y’alls GMAT prep is going well! I’m getting a head start on my Southern accent 😀

10 thoughts on “Well, it’s been a while!

  1. That’s so awesome you played college basketball!! Duke would definitely be a good place for you.

    I know EXACTLY what you mean about “putting all your eggs in one basket”. When you really start to fall in love with a school, it’s hard to be objective and give equal attention and time to all the others. Super exciting stuff though! I need to schedule my campus visit out to Duke myself soon so I can get on your level haha.

    Best wishes on your apps and essays! Looks like you’re making great progress. Keep it up!!

    Like

  2. Yo it’s me again! Did you attend the Yale event? They won’t let me in because the Mumbai event is full but I might just gate crash it!

    Like

Leave a comment