Attending a student hosted event

Erm, so after having read many, many blogs about campus visits and the like, I decided to see what events were happening off campus, since I’m definitely not going to be able to squeeze in a trip to the States any time soon. As I was randomly going through websites yesterday idly registering for a few events in different cities at that, I suddenly happened to see an event for Booth in my own city that is happening today! This is so surprising because literally, no one comes here. Also, hello destiny?! I wasn’t even considering Booth in my list and it just so happens that I see this event a day before it’s scheduled to happen… The universe is calling out to me here.

I’m not sure if I should sound perfectly convinced about applying to Booth or just wing it when I go there. It would be stupid to show up not knowing if I even want to apply but I have no choice. I don’t want to skip the event, god knows these things happen once in a blue moon. After a lot of asking and skulking around, this is a list of things I would like to achieve after having attended the event:

  1. Find two or more mentors, recent graduates from the school who can guide me through the application process.
  2. Identify what makes the school tick. Find out as much insider information as I possibly can, stuff that I could actually use in my essays and interviews later on.
  3. Network, network, network. Find someone who works in the admissions office or knows someone who does. No admissions officer is going to be at this event, so if I could possibly be put in touch with someone, I might have an edge?
  4. Ask about career prospects post MBA, especially once back in India.

Any more ideas anyone? Let me know. I’ll update once I’ve actually attended the event. Also… I don’t have any visiting cards. How am I supposed to exchange contact information? Good ol’ pen and paper? Just note email addresses down? Meh. Must invest in visiting cards.

2 thoughts on “Attending a student hosted event

Leave a comment